Athena Art Awards

The Barbican, London, England

11 February – 8 March 1987

Monday – Saturday, 11 – 8, Sunday 12 - 8

Walking II, silver gelatin print, toner and gouache, 58cms x 58cms, 1986. © Victor Sloan

One hundred and fifty seven artists are exhibiting in the Athena Art Awards at the Barbican, London from 11 February – 8 March 1987. They include: John Atkin, Conrad Atkinson, Basil Beattie, Stephen Buckley, Patrick Caulfield, Graham Crowley, Stephen Farthing, Adam Gray, Maggi Hambling, Patrick Heron, John Hoyland, Albert Irvin, Allen Jones, John Keane, Eileen Lawrence, Jock McFadyen, Alan Miller, Martin Naylor, Lawrence Preece, Barbara Rae, Pam Skelton, Victor Sloan, Joe Tilson and Peter Unsworth.

The Nominations Awards Panel is: Peter Davis, Visual Arts Officer, Northern Arts; John Hoole, Curator, Barbican Art Gallery; John McEwen, Critic; Antonia Payne, Director, Icon Gallery and Brian Robinson, Critic and Exhibition Organiser.

The Administrative Committee is: The Right Hon Lord Annan OBE, Chairman, Athena Awards Administrative Committee; Mrs Caryl Hubbard, Chairman, The Contemporary Art Society; Professor Michael Jaffé, Director, The Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge; Mr Terry Maher, Chairman and Chief Executive, Pentos PLC; The Right Hon Lord Rayne, Chairman, National Theatre Board, Founder Patron, The Rayne Foundation; Miss Bridget Riley CBE, Artist; The Right Hon Norman St John Stevas MP, Chairman, Royal Fine Art Commission; Mr Jocelyn Stevens, Rector and Vice-President, The Royal College of Art and The Lady Vaisey, Art Critic, The Sunday Times.

Barbican Centre
Silk Street
London EC2Y 8DS
Nearest tube: Barbican
Main Switchboard: 020 7638 4141
Box Office: 020 7638 8891 9am-8pm daily

Opening times:
Monday - Saturday
9am - 11pm
Sundays, Public Holidays
12noon - 11pm

Return to News Archive